Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Muskogee Public Schools

Logo Title

Jeanette Vasquez and Lakeya Anderson pose alongside Superintendent Dr. Jarod Mendenhall and Deputy Superintendent Dr. Kim Dyce. 

2023 Teacher of the Year

A first in district history, two educators have been named the 2023 District Teacher of the Year. The decision results from an unbreakable tie following three rounds of evaluations where both Lakeya Anderson and Jeanette Vasquez demonstrated high levels of professionalism and a support of the district’s vision and goals. They are graduates of Muskogee Public Schools who have returned to teach in the district that shaped them into the individuals they are today.

Anderson is a fourth grade teacher at Sadler Arts Academy. She holds a master’s degree of education leadership with a concentration in instructional leadership from Northeastern State University, a bachelor’s of arts in science from Liberty University, and associate’s of arts from Connors State College. She has been a teacher with Muskogee Public Schools since 2018.

Vasquez is a third grade teacher at Irving Elementary having previously taught fourth grade along with both the second and fourth grades during summer school. She holds a bachelor’s of science degree in elementary education from Northeastern State University and is bilingual with fluency in both English and Spanish. She has been a teacher with Muskogee Public Schools since 2021.

Site Educators of the Year 2022-23

Janet Lopez, High School

Mark Hatley, Alternative Academy

Brooke Moore, Innovation Academy

April Coen, 8th & 9th Academy

Lindsey Breeding, 6th & 7th Academy

Lakeya Anderson, Sadler Arts Academy

Melody Cranford, Cherokee Elementary

Margaret Ragsdale, Creek Elementary

Jeanette Vasquez, Irving Elementary

Cynthia Metzger, Pershing Elementary

Sandra Cason, Tony Goetz Elementary

Melissa Gosney, Early Childhood Center